February 3, 2010

Research support was provided by The Investigative Fund at The Nation Institute.

The entire show is also available below. Check out our live roundtable discussion about the show at RaceWire.org.

LinkTV will rebroadcast the program on April 12: 7:30am PT/ 10:30am ET, April 14: 4:30pm PT/ 7:30pm ET and April 17: 3:30am PT/ 6:30am ET. More info at Link TV.


Watch the full episode.

Download the entire show here


ColorLines spent several months investigating how the time limits on welfare and the recession are affecting women of color in Hartford, CT. Reporter Seth Wessler spent time with Eva and her family. Read the story at ColorLines.com. Also, featured on DemocracyNow!—watch the video or read the full transcript.


President Obama says the stimulus saved or created 2 million jobs in 2009. But is the recovery really working? The American dream of good jobs and strong communities is still just a dream for too many. The unfair economy hurts certain groups more, and that ends up hurting everyone. From the bottom line to the unemployment line to the color line, watch a new in-depth program from Link TV and Applied Research Center for a closer look.

ColorLines: Race and Economic Recovery follows communities making ends meet in The Great Recession. The program narrates the moving story of Tisha, mother of three in Connecticut, facing a social safety net shredded further by the crisis. Then the program goes to Los Angeles where community-based organization SCOPE has mobilized to win green jobs for communities of color.

This half-hour magazine-style show is hosted by Chris Rabb, founder of Afro-Netizen and author of forthcoming book Invisible Capital: How Unseen Forces Shape Entrepreneurial Opportunity.

The in-studio guest is Tram Nguyen, journalist who has written extensively on racial justice issues and author of We Are All Suspects Now: Untold Stories from Immigrant America After 9/11. Tram is former editor of ColorLines magazine and now works at the California Reinvestment Coalition



With special thanks to LinkTV, our partners in this special program.
Major Funding Provided by the Akonadi Foundation.

Read this online at http://colorlines.com/archives/2010/02/watch_the_colorlines_tv_show_race_and_economic_recovery.html


Thank you for printing out this Colorlines.com article. If you liked this article, please make a donation today at colorlines.com/donate to support our ongoing news coverage, investigations and actions to promote solutions.